top of page

Student Government Presidents Come Together for SUNY Voices Summit

Updated: Dec 26, 2019

SUNY is a system founded in shared governance, with students, faculty, and administration partnering to make decisions key to the college experience. As students graduate, and new leaders emerge, they often step into their positions with a handful of questions. How does shared governance work? What can administration and students do to make their shared governance as efficient and smooth as possible? The Student Assembly, Faculty Council of Community Colleges, and University Faculty Senate heard these questions and implemented a yearly two-day conference, called SUNY Voices, to help answer them.

On June 4th and 5th, the three shared governance organizations hosted their annual SUNY Voices Campus Governance Leader (CGL) Conference where newly elected student government presidents from all over the SUNY system, new faculty senate members, and SUNY administrative members come together to learn from each other, meet new and seasoned CGLs, and gain a better understanding of their roles in relation to shared governance.

The first presentation was titled “Shared Governance 101,” presented by President of the SUNY University Faculty Senate  Gwen Kay, President of the Faculty Council of Community Colleges Nina Tamrowski, and President of the SUNY Student Assembly Austin Ostro. Other notable presentations included “How to Run a Meeting,” “10 Things I Wish I Knew Before I Started as a Campus Governance Leader,” “Difficult Conversations,” and “Advocacy Basics.”

The student government presidents in attendance with the Student Assembly were

  • Bridget Boland representing SUNY Polytechnic Institute CNSE graduate students

  • Timothy Nolan representing SUNY Oneonta

  • Christine Sylvester representing SUNY Binghamton graduate students

  • Xiaoqing Zhang representing Stony Brook graduate students

  • Emma Chilson-Cline representing SUNY Brockport

  • Taijah Pink representing SUNY New Paltz

  • Cheyanne Matulewich representing SUNY Cobleskill

  • Shelley Jain representing SUNY Downstate

  • Zion Sherin representing Hudson Valley Community College

  • Dylan Guilfoyle representing Adirondack Community College

  • Emma Vanderwerken representing SUNY Polytechnic Institute in Utica

  • Chief of Staff Amy Zhang representing University at Albany President Dee Carty

  • Student leader Andrew Hutchinson representing Jamestown Community College

  • Yousouf Amolegbe representing University at Buffalo

  • Kalis Nunes representing SUNY Potsdam

  • Kupr Kuprian representing Mohawk Valley Community College

  • Shaheer Kahn representing Stony Brook University

  • Christopher Thomas representing SUNY ESF graduate students

  • Andy Graham representing SUNY ESF undergraduate students

  • Akshay Patel representing SUNY Upstate

  • Kalief Mettelus representing SUNY Old Westbury

  • Erin Winn representing Suffolk Community College’s Ammerman campus

  • Gaelle Jean-Baptiste representing Buffalo State

  • Student leader James Hunt representing Schenectady Community College.

The program was finished by Dr. John Graham as he enlightened the student government presidents with a quote: “The two most important days are when you are born, and when you find out why you were born.”

Written by Eric Rooney, University at Buffalo Student Association Chief of Staff

bottom of page