Disability Services Committee

The Disability Services Committee focuses on issues related to disability services and accessibility on SUNY campuses. The committee coordinates and participates in advocacy initiatives to ensure adequate resources, accommodations, and services are available to students with disabilities. 

To serve on the Disability Services Committee, please fill out the Committee Application Form.




Emma is a 21-year-old from Frankfort, NY. She has an associate degree in human services from Herkimer College. In addition to the SUNY Student Assembly, Emma is serving as president for the student government at SUNY Poly Utica. Currently, Emma is a community and behavioral health major and psychology minor. She also works at Upstate Cerebral Palsy, supporting individuals with various disabilities. Emma’s ultimate goal is to obtain a Ph.D., to continue working within the higher education system. 

Favorite quote:

"To make a difference in someone's life, you don't have to be brilliant, rich, beautiful or perfect. You just have to care." 


Reading, spending time with friends, and painting



Vice Chair

John is a Sam Draper Honors Program Student at Rockland Community College. He is a dual-enrollment student who is completing his last year of high school while simultaneously pursuing his Associates Degree in science.  In addition to his role in the SUNY Student Assembly, John also serves as a Senator in RCC’s Student Government. John plans to pursue a career in medicine and volunteers for the Vascular Birthmark Foundation, which supports research and programs that promote acceptance for individuals with vascular birthmarks.   


Favorite quote:

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.” - Harriet Tubman 


sailing, playing violin, soccer

Members of the

Disability Services Committee:

Representative Jahad Hoyte

Representative Amanda VanHorn

Representative Yamilex Taveras

Representative Richard Caldicott

Natalie McIntyre, SUNY Oneonta

Sanita Hadziahmetovic, SUNY Polytechnic Institute

Allison Rusinski, University at Buffalo

Corey Sidney, Buffalo State

Isabella Musachio, University at Buffalo

Kayla Watson, University at Albany

Jasmine LaRocca, Alfred State College

Ashley Alvarado, SUNY Old Westbury

Florence Wolf, Alfred State College

Elizabeth Stippell, University at Buffalo

Initiatives of the committee:


Check out the blog article that University at Buffalo student Georgia Hulbert wrote about her experience at the NYS Disability Services Council 2019 Conference.

Check out the blog article that Chair Vanderwerken wrote on disability services throughout the SUNY system.



Contact Us





Please direct questions, comments, and concerns to Chief of Staff Corianna Lipira via email at corianna.lipira@sunysa.org

©2020 - The Student Assembly of the State University of New York